Explore the Cooks’ Cottage, the only 18th century building in Melbourne. The Cottage was the supposed home of Captain James Cook, the English navigator who explored the Southern Hemisphere and first “discovered” the east coast of Australia. The Cottage was purchased in 1933 by a wealthy Melbourne businessman, who had it shipped over from its original location in Whitby, England, and presented as a gift to the state of Victoria for its 1934 centenary. The cottage was taken apart brick by brick, before being restored to its current location in the Fitzroy Gardens. Often referred to as Captain Cook’s Cottage, the house was actually built and owned by Cook’s parents, James and Grace.
mobile to save this address: